(+632) 8771-DLSZ

DLSZ-Muntinlupa Elementary Level Basketball Team Wins 1st Runner-Up in the NCR Regional Meet

Seated from left to right: Ian Mateo Tabu, Jason Wayde Bautista, Xabier David Trillo, Aaron Steve Riguera, Mateo Inigo Dagdagan

Standing from left to right: Coach Kane Baylon, Zac Hailyn Andres, Lorenzo Maximo Montes, Mikko Noel, Crixus Malik Quijano, Xerone D’andre Dizon, Manu Alden Cheung, Rocky Andre Almeda, Coach Jhon Cabulong

By: Mr. Marvin Montes

De La Salle Santiago Zobel (DLSZ) Muntinlupa City Elementary Level Basketball Team clinched the 1st runner-up position in the NCR Regional Meet held last April 22 to 26, 2024 at the Dr. Alejandro Albert Elementary School, Manila City. 

Playing a total of five (5) games over a four-day span tested the stamina, resilience, and grit of the team. Competition was tough with the best elementary school basketball teams from each city in NCR vying for the right to represent NCR in the upcoming Palarong Pambansa in Cebu. Getting through the group stages allowed the team to reach the knockout stage of the tournament.

Members of the team are the following: 

  1. Rocky Andre Almeda (DLSZ 2030)
  2. Zac Hailyn Andres (DLSZ 2030)
  3. Jason Wayde Bautista (DLSZ 2030)
  4. Manu Alden Cheung (DSLZ 2030)
  5. Mateo Inigo Dagdagan (DLSZ 2030)
  6. Xeron D’andre Dizon (DLSZ 2030)
  7. Lorenzo Maximo Montes (DLSZ 2030)
  8. Mikko Noel (DLSZ 2030)
  9. Crixus Malik Quijano (DLSZ 2030)
  10. Aaron Steve Riguera (DLSZ 2030)
  11. Ian Mateo Tabu (DLSZ 2030)
  12. Xabier David Trillo (DLSZ 2031)

The team faced off against the host city, Manila, in the quarterfinals.  After a slow start to the game, the team buckled down to work and cruised to a comfortable win. This led the team to the semifinals game against Quezon City. The game against this formidable team proved to be a tough one but the cohesion and the ability of the players to play their respective roles enabled the team to come out on top and move on to the championship game against Mandaluyong City represented by La Salle Green Hills.

The championship game was an intense battle between the two (2) teams. No team led by more than five (5) points with the lead changing several times and eventually leading to a tied game with eight (8) seconds left in the ballgame. With ball possession in the hands of Mandaluyong City, they milked out the clock and heaved a three-pointer well past the three-point line, going through the hoop as the buzzer sounded. Stunned and in disbelief, the team fell deflated to the court- a painful ending to an otherwise memorable NCR Regional Meet journey for the DLSZ-Muntinlupa Basketball Team. While the team fell short of the desired goal, this once- in- a-lifetime experience will help these young gentlemen grow and be better as a person and as a team.

We also would like to acknowledge two members of the team for earning individual awards: Mikko Noel and Xerone D’andre Dizon who won Best Point Guard and Best Power Forward, respectively.

Congratulations. Animo Lasallian Leaders!