(+632) 8771-DLSZ

Zobel Debaters Hailed Grand Champions in National Tourney

Zobel Parliament Debate Society members emerged victorious over Ateneo speakers in the recently concluded 5th Rotary National Debate Championship.
Gabrielle Sofia Ma. Dimatatac (DLSZ 2019), Edgar Desher Empeño (DLSZ 2019), and Raymond Elijah Tiuseco (DLSZ 2020) were awarded as Grand Champions in the two-day event. Tiuseco, incoming 11th grader, was also named Finals Best Speaker and 9th Best Speaker.
All four De La Salle Zobel teams entered the finals achieving a contingent break. Joseph Ken Alunan (DLSZ 2019), Erika Corinne Sison (DLSZ 2018), Quintin Armando Chua (DLSZ 2019), Reynaldo Jericho Soriano (DLSZ 2018), Janna Ysabelle Medrero (DLSZ 2019), and Riva Fong (DLSZ 2021) reached the quarterfinals. Dani Garcia, Therese Lachaona, and Jessica Lee got to the octofinals.
The event was held at E. Rodriguez Junior High School on March 24-25, 2018
This is the second championship earned by Zobel Parliament. It also gained victory in the Asian Schools Debating Championship held last year.