Students Bag 11 Major Awards in World Scholar’s Cup

Congratulations to the following members of the DLSZ team for winning eleven major awards in the recently concluded World Scholar‘s Cup – Tournament of Champions held at the Yale University, Connecticut, U.S.A. on November 16 – 21, 2018:

Ma. Hanie Avery Andrade (DLSZ 2019)
  • Silver Medal Individual Debate
  • Gold  Medal  Individual writing
  • Silver  Medal Team Debate
  • Gold  Medal Collaborative Writing #28
Alberto Gerard Ignacio VI (DLSZ 2019)
  • Gold  Medal  Individual Debate
  • Gold  Medal  Individual Writing
  • Silver  Medal Team Debate
  • Gold  Medal Collaborative Writing #28
Janara Jaducana (DLSZ 2019)
  • Silver Medal Individual Writing
  • Silver Medal Team Debate
  • Gold  Medal Collaborative Writing #28

Hosted by the Yale International Relations Association, the annual Tournament of Champions gathered fellow scholars from over fifty countries who qualified for the World Scholar‘s Cup – Global Rounds held in Kuala Lumpur Malaysia, Barcelona Spain, and Melbourne Australia.

The scholars from all over the world were treated with a special Thanksgiving meal, beautiful historic venues for the Scholar’s Bowl, Debate Showcase, and Scholar’s Show held at the Shubert Theatre and Yale’s Woolsey Hall.

With the theme “An Entangled World”, the champions competed in different academic challenges that tested their wits, confidence, and strategy in Individual Debate, Collaborative Writing, and Scholar‘s Bowl with multifarious topics on Special Area – Human Relationships, History – The History of Diplomacy, Social Studies – Black Markets, Science – The Science of Memory, Art & Music – Braving the Distance, and Literature – Voices of the Inseparable.

The DLSZ Champions were accompanied by Ms. Adrienne Victoria Zaballero, SHS English Faculty, and Mrs. Vane Ignacio.

Animo La Salle!


(L-R) Hanie Andrade, Gerard Ignacio and Janara Jaducana