Written by: Mr. Lawrence Sahagun (DLSZ 1990)

The DLSZ Junior Tankers claimed the overall championship for the high school division of  the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) swimming competition recently held at the Rizal Memorial Sports Complex last November 8 to 11, 2018.

The girls team successfully defended their title for the second straight year achieving a rare Three-Peat championship run. The DLSZ boys team finally bagged the championship after 19 years, out swimming long time rivals Ateneo and defending champions UST.

The Boys were led by Jerard Dominic Jacinto (DLSZ 2020) with five gold and two silver medals, establishing three new UAAP records in the 100 free, 100 and 50 meter back stroke. Jerard’s 100 meter free style swim broke the record of DLSZ alumnus swimmer Maurice Sacho Ilustre established last UAAP season 80. Other medalists from the boy’s team are Mctracy John Alindogan (DLSZ 2019) with one gold, two silver and one bronze medal; Jose Antonio Dela Rosa (DLSZ 2022) with one gold, one silver and one bronze medal; Iñaki Emil Lorbes (DLSZ 2020) with two silver medals and Raphael Henrico Santos (DLSZ 2022) with two bronze medals. Also contributing in the medal haul (silver and bronze ) and points system are the relay swims of Gavin Benjamin Ignacio (DLSZ 2020), Carlos Roman Cabreza (DLSZ 2019), Marc Nelson Libarnes (DLSZ 2019), Mac Arsen Quiambao (DLSZ 2020), Bernard Matthew Cruz (DLSZ 2019), John Paul Elises (DLSZ 2022),  David Franco Dela Rosa (DLSZ 2020) and Team Captain Isaac Matthew Santos (DLSZ 2019). Other team members who swam very well improving their best swim times and contributing valuable points  are Noah Labasan (DLSZ 2023), Gabriel Labasan (DLSZ 2024), Gerardo Gabriel Alava (DLSZ 2020), Nathan Gabriel Barlis (DLSZ 2019), Raphael Carlos Sacdalan (DLSZ 2020), Alejandro Carandang (DLSZ 2024) and Luis Adrias (DLSZ 2020).

It has likewise been a record breaking season for our girls team seeing Milcah Therese Mina (DLSZ 2020) and Bela Louise Magtibay (DLSZ 2020) establishing new UAAP records in the 100 meter and 200 meter breast stoke breaking the two records held by DLSZ Alumus and Olympian swimmer Jenny Guerrero 20 years ago (1998 UAAP Season). Milcah then added one more gold and one silver medal to her medal haul. Bela added a silver and a bronze medal. Raven Faith Alcoseba (DLSZ 2021) also established a new UAAP record for the 800 meter free style taking home two gold medals, one silver and one bronze. In her rookie year in DLSZ, Leeya Beatriz Marbella (DLSZ 2020) pulled off an upset by winning a gold medal beating defending champion Camille Buico of UST in the 200 meter butterfly event and eventually added two more silver medals in the four-day event. Sisters Angela Shannen Tan (DLSZ 2020) and Kirsten Robyn Tan (DLSZ 2023)  swam strong and likewise took home two bronze and two silver medals, respectively. Also contributing to the medal haul (silver and bronze medals ) and valuable points are Girls Team Captain Dylan Marie Tangan (DLSZ 2019), Juliana Marion Burgos (DLSZ 2019), Jana Margarita Burgos (DLSZ 2024), Kayleen Zakia Keh (DLSZ 2021), Margarita Isabel Cabreza (DLSZ 2021), Gene Heart Quiambao (DLSZ 2022), Chrystelle Alina Reyes (DLSZ 2021), and Everly Janarie Macalalad (DLSZ 2022). Also swimming well and providing their team mates the much needed support are Erin Alessandra Panlilio (DLSZ 2020) and Isabelle Marie O’Hara (DLSZ 2024).

The success achieved by the Junior Tankers this season did not come easy. The team trained six days a week averaging three hours water time per day complimented by a twice per week dry land / strength and conditioning program twice per week every Tuesday and Thursday morning. Four weeks leading into the competition week, the team had swim sessions twice per day form 5:30 Am to 7am and from 5PM up until 7:30 PM. The team is Coached by Garry Domingo and Bong Ilustre with the strong and united support of the swim team parents.

Below are two video links about the DLSZ swim team UAAP Season 81:


UAAP 81- Championship Photo