Written by Ms. Genevieve A. Pillar, Institutional Robotics Coordinator

DLSZ Robotics Elite team won a total of 23 awards (2 gold medals, 4 silver medals, 3 bronze medals, 14 technical merit awards) in the recently concluded 2018 International Robotics Championship – China Open (China Open- FIRA RoboWorld Cup, China Open-Australia Robot Challenge, China Open-World Robot Games) in Zhengzhou, Henan, China last July 16-21, 2018. It was one of the toughest robotic games due to four-day non-stop coding and assembly, eight grueling robot missions and defense, and five rounds of mind boggling challenges.

Gold Medals
1) Bjorn Isaac Escalona (DLSZ 2023) – Gold Medal in Sumo 3Kg Open
2) Beatrize Ysabelle Escalona (DLSZ 2021) – Gold Medal in Sumo Challenge

Silver Medals
1) Javier Alejandro Cuyno (DLSZ 2025) – Silver Medal in Sumo Junior
2) Alonso Pioquinto (DLSZ 2026) – Silver Medal in Creative Design
3) Luc Benjamin Bunag (DLSZ 2023) – Silver Medal in Creative Design
4) Emmannuel Jace Savellano (DLSZ 2027) – Silver Medal in Creative Design

Bronze Medal
1. Robert Philip Lim (DLSZ 2027) – Bronze Medal in Sumo Junior
2. Bianca Ysabel Roxas (DLSZ 2023) – Bronze Medal in Engineering Mission Challenge Jr.
3. Reese Reilly Albano (DLSZ 2027) – Bronze Medal in Engineering Mission Challenge Jr.

Technical Merit Award for Creative Design
1. Beatrize Ysabelle Escalona (DLSZ 2021)
2. Bjorn Isaac Escalona (DLSZ 2023)
3. Mary Janiyah Kate Aguto (DLSZ 2025)
4. Reese Reilly Albano (DLSZ 2027)
5. Robert Philip Lim (DLSZ 2027)
6. Enzo Joaquim David Petrache (DLSZ 2025)
7. Eduardo Mattero Valdez (DLSZ 2027)
8. Joshua Luzon (DLSZ 2025)
9. Chito Roxas Jr. (DLSZ 2027)
10. Javier Alejandro Cuyno (DLSZ 2025)
11. Jacob Isaac Ruiz (DLSZ 2025)
12. Bianca Ysabel Roxas (DLSZ 2023)
13. Sabrina Annika Henson (DLSZ 2020)
14. Samantha Gabrielle Ruiz (DLSZ 2023)

Kudos to team coaches Mr. Heinz Elorde, Mr. Ramon Torres, Mr. Donald Lleno, and Ms. Carmelita Estidola!


china open pic1